Little Mochii

everything otome and adorable

Anime Overview: Ghost Hunt

Leave a comment

Plot Summary: Telling ghost stories is a favorite past time of Mai Taniyama and her friends—that is, until she meets 17-year-old Kazuya Shibuya, the man sent by Shibuya Psychic Research Center to investigate paranormal activity at a supposedly haunted school. When Mai gets caught in a dangerous situation, she is rescued by Kazuya’s assistant. Saving her lands the assistant incapacitated, and Kazuya demands that Mai become his assistant, instead…

Genre(s): Horror, Drama, Psychological, Supernatural

This anime (and the manga) are based off the original light novel series by Fuyumi Ono. As far as I can see, the novel has no translations as of yet, but I hope it’ll come by soon ^^

Ghost Hunt is a horror anime, in which they hunt for ghosts. You can imagine a ghost hunt reality show thingy, in anime form. Minus the recording, of course. It all started when Mai and her friends were telling ghost-stories almost everyday, and then they met Kazuya, and then when Mai screwed up the next day and broke a video camera of Kazuya (and broke the arm of his assistant, at that), the guy asked her to work in place of the assistant. I literally squealed at the idea because “omg, this is gonna cute!”.

I’m not comparing or anything, but yeah, it does has that elements from Psychic Detective Yakumo. Just that, PDY has more of that  ‘feel’ of relationship changes and character growth, but in Ghost Hunt, it’s pretty so-so. The characters do get close to each other, though. What can I say, we have a lot of characters even in one episode and then those characters add up from time to time. (I kinda think that it’s crowded?).

One thing to note is that, yes, the main male lead is a cold, calm and collected person. And the female lead is the adorable, squeal-y girl. Mai is pretty strong in her own ways, quite an air-head, so I find her likeable. She’s also really brave. But in terms of the relationship between these two, I see little to no real progress. I mean, in PDY you could literally see Yakumo began to open up to Haruka and gradually helps each other at times. But in Ghost Hunt, it’s like a real unrequited love. It does have it moments in which I squeal and fangirl for, because hey, you know how mochii is. >w<

However! In terms of horror, I think Ghost Hunt wins. The only thing slacking is that the art kinda stop you from having that eerie feeling, but the background music and all are really scary, I suppose. There’s this doll-house episode, and I heard that most people are scared of that… 😉 I don’t wanna spoil anything, but for someone who’s not really scared of ghost stories like these, even I thought to myself “gosh, what would happen if I’m in that situation?”. Heheh :3

The art is, well, have I mentioned that it was made in 2006 something? So, you know… The music, as mentioned earlier, really suit perfectly with the situations. But if you’re looking for an anime with some nice OP or ED, then this doesn’t fit in that criteria. The OP and ED are mostly just music in the background with credits on-screen and the images of, I’m not sure, maybe orbs? Gradually those things change into some sort of scary animation as you progress through the episode. Mwahaha.

I’m sorry if I sound so negative in this overview. I really enjoyed it, I do. But gradually it drags on
and being the picky person I am, I halted the episodes when I see like there’s no progress or character reveal-lation of sorts. Just that, it’s full of scary episodes and cases that would make you curious for more! The mysteries are pretty intriguing too.

So if you’re into something mysterious and horror, and doesn’t mind the art, then this series is definitely for you! As for me, this time I’ll rate it 7/10. I don’t feel like I wasted some precious hours watching it, because I did enjoy it. I’ll probably watch it later and if that time really comes, I’ll surely improve this post with lots more positivity and good points! Haha.

If you have any anime that you would like to recommend, do tell me! Thanks for reading, byeom~

Author: littlemochii

Acts like a child, thinks like a queen.

Leave a Reply

